inspiration · Uncategorized

First blog post

Welcome to my blog! I am a 30 year old California gal living in the heart of Silicon Valley, who recently realized that after four years in her current career, she wanted to do something else. The problem was…she didn’t know what she wanted to do. You can see the dilemma here. This blog is about my experience and journey of starting over and finding the career of my dreams.

I knew I was unhappy and not entirely fulfilled with my current career. I’m a teacher -high school- so every time someone finds out what I do, immediately they say, “Wow, that must be so fulfilling- that must feel very rewarding!” I usually have this weird feeling in the pit of my stomach -maybe it’s guilt, because it doesn’t fulfill me anymore. Don’t get me wrong, I chose this career because it was what I wanted -at the time. But, things have changed… and I’ve changed. I can’t fight this nagging feeling that I’m stuck and to get unstuck means finding a new passion. I feel like there’s something else I’m meant to do, something more than what I’m doing now. In my experience, my intuition has always been spot on. So, I feel like I’d better listen to it now because I don’t want to live a life of regret. I don’t want to regret staying in a career I like, but don’t love. I don’t want to regret NOT living up to my full potential and taking action. This leads me to the idea of fear and its place in my life.

I know a lot about fear. Unfortunately, I have often let it run my life and its kept me from trying and learning new things. When I decided that I would make this huge change in my life thoughts like, “you couldn’t do anything else”, “you don’t know how to do anything else, so what would you do?”, “you’re too old to go back to school, it would take you forever, and would be, too expensive”, “you’re not smart enough”, “you’re not talented enough”, and “people younger than you are already at the top, or where they want to be, in the career of their dreams” immediately began flooding my mind. Then I realized, when I let these kinds thoughts keep me from accomplishing goals, I alone am holding myself back; I am a prisoner to my own fear. Now, I know my higher power did not intend for me to live a life limited by fear, but a life where I am free to be my true self.

So what am I going to do? Well, I live in Silicon Valley so naturally I feel a pull towards tech. I have always felt an inclination towards business, I’m a natural leader, and I have a creative side that needs to be nurtured. Could I actually do something that involved all of those things? Then it slowly crept into my mind…get a degree in computer science. Once again fear set in. I was afraid that people would think and I guess, rightly so, because when I expressed my interests to a colleague, he responded, “I don’t see you doing that” and  chuckled. I can’t let fear hold me back. He doesn’t know my limitations, what I can, and cannot do -hell, I don’t even know! So I’m going to find out.

Follow me on my journey and I hope you’re inspired to start your own!

9 thoughts on “First blog post

  1. What a great first post! I know the feeling of fear and excitement before taking a big leap. It is possible to change careers – I’ve done it. If you are interested in going to school for a new tech career, you may want to explore “user experience.” It’s a blend of creativity and business, and it’s a growing, lucrative field. (This is the career I went into 16 years ago and I’m SO glad I made the leap). Just an idea for you. Good luck on your journey!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much 🙂 I’ve actually thought of that and been researching it. I’d love to here from you about why chose that field, how you prepared for it, what kind of skills you needed, and how you made the leap!

      Like

      1. Glad to hear that UX is already on your radar. When I started in the late ’90s, it was a brand new discipline. At the time, you could start out without a degree because there were no degrees. Now it has become much more professionalized and a degree is important. My first lucky break was working at a small software company where I wrote Help documentation and learned about the software development process. I then got a job at an interactive agency as a “site editor” and then was given a new title – “information architect.” This was my true beginning in UX. At the time, some of my colleagues got into it as designers, others as writers, others as librarians (!) or front-end coders. I studied anthropology in college, which, believe it or not, has come in handy. Part of UX is learning how people use tools or think about them, so you can create a tool that feels intuitive to use. If you are curious about how people think about technology, actually use it, and want to create new products, UX is a great discipline to explore. Some of the most important skills are empathy, curiosity, and creativity. Being a visual thinker (though not necessarily trained in design yet) and good at explaining your ideas are also valuable. I hope this helps you!

        Like

  2. I think it’s great that you’re not settling for something you’re not completely passionate about. I think that the only thing keeping us away from taking a risk is our own self and the judment and doubts we built in our heads. Hopefully you are able to find what you genuinely love. 😊
    And congratulations on starting this blog! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Fernanda! I’ll be talking about freedom; to be truly free is to be your true self. While there are social constricts to freedom, many of us are actually self-oppressed -you’re right about that. So I will talking about this in posts to come 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think that’s great, and couldn’t agree more. I believe that everyone is self-oppressed to some level, but if we really want to break free from it when have to take chances. Good luck, I’ll be looking forward to them 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Great first post. The layout of the blog, the background and font are all in your favour. I have heard that some search engines do not index posts with way too many tags, although I myself use many tags.
    Welcome to the the blogging world, though I myself am new.

    PS: Do check out our blog, it is a travel blog and we strive to provide as much information as possible about the places we visit.
    https://vegancoupleblog.wordpress.com/2016/05/03/orchha/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

